the perks of reading “perks…” as an adult

I finally got around to reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky over the holidays because what says “holiday cheer” like a story about a depressed high schooler? Now, I’ll be real. I’m the woman who still relates to Holden Caulfield on some level. He’s supposed to be kind of annoying; he’s a typical teen who thinks he knows everything, but he’s also scared out of his mind and confused as hell. Congrats if you don’t really identify with that, but I always have and always will. I embrace it. Perks was like meeting a more modern Holden for me. Chbosky nailed Charlie’s voice so perfectly, it really does feel like Charlie is speaking directly to me. There is the backlash concerning the whole “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite” line, as if anyone who found that deep or affecting is a silly pseudo-intellectual hipster jerk, but I really don’t give a fuck. I loved the whole damn book. It took me back to that place where even the tiniest moment felt so important and being with the right person, listening to the right music, just meant everything, how taking solace in those moments provided relief from otherwise unbearable pain and confusion. I’m really glad I read Perks now as opposed to when I was younger. I was so walled off then, and I don’t think I would have related to it as much as I do now that I’ve confronted so many past demons. It was just beautiful, and I am so grateful that I had friends who encouraged me to read the book. I am really looking forward to seeing the movie, though I don’t know just how I will be able to handle watching so much beautiful heartache played out on my television screen.

In the meantime, I’ll be listening to this….

Leave a Reply

