lazy saturday.

After a completely shitty Friday at work and the very sad news about the dolphin that died in the Gowanus, I woke up this morning with sadness still weighing heavy on me. Lover Man had work, so I was left to my own devices. Clearly, I called my mom and sister and texted with my amazing niece who always cheers me up. But I was still feeling bummed out, so I did a few things to calm myself.

1. I made a cuppa earl grey just the way I like it: sugar in the raw, soy milk. Belvita chocolate biscuits for a lunch of champions. Done. (Also, according to the sketchy dude at Teavana, earl grey is a natural antidepressant. Huzzah!)

cuppa_belvita

Nom nom nom.

2. I lit some candles to ward off the chill of this frigid day and the bad spirits of yesterday. Bringing in warmth, prosperity, hope and light.

candles_burning

Baby, baby, baby, light my way.

(Just out of frame here are my Squinkies,  by the way. Yes, I have them! They were a Christmas present from my mom, who knows I love Sleeping Beauty, Maleficent in particular.)

Sleeping_Beauty_Squinkies

Note how, in my version of events, Maleficent is queen. Just sayin’.

3. Whenever I am in a super funky mood, watching videos by British pop groups cheers me up. I know, weird, but it reminds me of the time I spent in England. It was a strange, confusing, magical time, the first time I felt free and broke out of the cage I felt I had been put in long ago. First, I caught up on the show Chasing the Saturdays. Their new single is okay, but I prefer their song Ego:

If we’re really talking British girl groups, the best one since the Spice Girls is clearly Girls Aloud. Their songs are pop perfection. Their reunion single, Something New, is brilliant, and I want all the clothes from the video (including the pants which, according to Kimberly, were made for her the day of the shoot!):

I also looked at some of my old photos of the Gowanus, such as this one of a mural by artist Pasqualina Azzarello. I really miss Brooklyn.revolutionary_war_azzarello

And now, as I prepare to work on my writing, I can’t say I feel perfect, but I feel a hell of a lot better. It seems the universe is already providing me with goodness. I finally got my copy of fellow Love Magick Anthology contributor Ashley Inguanta‘s wonderful book The Way Home in the mail. She is such an inspiration, and I can’t wait to curl up with another cuppa and her amazing words.

Now, to edit!

[sic]

Leave a Reply

