so sad today: in progress.

IMG_20160601_124225

So, I’ve finally picked up my reading pace, and I’m currently engrossed in So Sad Today, a collection of essays by Melissa Broder that is at once beautiful, heartbreaking and, at times, laugh-out-loud funny. (Maybe I find them funny because I, too, am an anxious mess and love a good dose of self-deprecating dark humor, but I guess that’s a story for another day.)

If you haven’t checked out So Sad Today on Twitter, you should. Seriously, do it right now. When you’re anxious and depressed, it’s hard to express it or explain it to others. We’re told to hide it, to put on a happy face and fake it ’til we make it. It’s so fucking refreshing to see someone just say what they want to say. Broder is a writer who started the account anonymously as a way to get all of these feelings out in the open. What a marvelous idea! You would think that maybe reading this shit when you suffer from anxiety and depression would be triggering, but for me, it’s the exact opposite.

IMG_20160605_111423

It’s inspiring. It’s calming. I read Broder’s tweets–and now, her essay collection–and sigh in relief. The So Sad Today project as a whole is a lesson in radical bravery.

And these one-liners. I am in awe when someone can deliver truth with such an economy of words as this:

IMG_20160605_111321

In some ways, I can’t wait to keep reading, but in other ways, I want to savor every word, every revelation.

In any case, I’m loving this brilliant book so far.

[sic]

 

Leave a Reply

