rough magick interview with francesca lia block

IMG_20151231_182257Francesca Lia Block, my partner in Rough Magick, interviewed me for her blog! I talk about my influences, obsessions and writing and editing processes.

A sampling:

“What tips do you have for writers about how to create a powerful short story?

When I write a story, it’s usually because I have something on my mind that won’t go away. A feeling, or a particular image, a snippet of a dream. I’m a worrier, a ruminator, and I will replay that little bit of information in my head over and over again. Writing gives me the space to explore these feelings and ideas. I’d tell writers to begin there, with that passion. The power of that feeling will carry throughout your story, even if it’s not immediately clear in the first draft. Also, with short stories, there is a particular urgency that needs to be addressed. You have very little time to grab the reader and get them acclimated to the world you are creating, so it’s important to do that right away.”

Head on over to FLB’s blog and learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

