nourished.

I’m making a solid effort to cut back on spending and, thanks to my handy dandy finance tracker, I realized that the thing I spend the most money on is food and drink. I’m frugal when I do go out to eat, but I’m still a sucker for takeout and writing sessions over a good breakfast at a café.

 

Brekkie_3317

 

IMG_20161203_091836

If I didn’t write it while chomping on an egg sandwich, did it really count?

 

IMG_20160916_125550

Okay, sometimes I get a little wild and go with an almond croissant instead.

 

Bubble_Tea_march2017

And sometimes, I don’t need food at all, just some creamy, dreamy taro bubble tea.

So, I’m working on eating at home as much as possible. All day long, I worked, taking breaks to cook myself quick, cheap meals.

Breakfast: I usually make eggs for myself (shocking, I know), but today I wasn’t in the mood, so I went with my other obsession as of late, waffles with peanut butter and strawberry preserves. I also made myself a big ole cuppa Bustelo sweetened with caramel creamer.

 

Brekkie_March2017

Seriously, I find myself actually craving this breakfast fairly often. Also, these would be great with some fresh fruit.

 

Lunch: Ramen. The comfort food of my youth, swooping in once again to save the day.

Ramen_March2017

And I still got my egg fix today. Added protein for the win!

Dinner: I jazzed things up a little by making some jasmine rice. I added some amazing black beans that I made via this recipe from The Pioneer Woman. These legit may be the best black beans I’ve ever eaten. Don’t tell my mom. (Trust me, though, I am a huge fan of canned beans. They would work fine here, too.) Throw in some chopped green chilies and sour cream, and you have a quick, cheap meal. Oh, and I also threw some dashes of hot sauce on it for good measure after I took the picture.

Rice_Bowl_March2017

Surprisingly, I not only got a decent amount of work done, I also managed to read a couple of fantastic articles.

The New Yorker: Jia Tolentino’s criticism of the gig economy hits the nail on the goddamn head. A sample: “At the root of this is the American obsession with self-reliance, which makes it more acceptable to applaud an individual for working himself to death than to argue that an individual working himself to death is evidence of a flawed economic system. The contrast between the gig economy’s rhetoric (everyone is always connecting, having fun, and killing it!) and the conditions that allow it to exist (a lack of dependable employment that pays a living wage) makes this kink in our thinking especially clear.”

Catapult: Melissa Febos reminding me to put myself and my writing first. I am a perfectionist, and  it’s so easy to forget to forget that when I have a million things going on in my life. This article is the stern talking-to I so desperately need at times. And I really, really, REALLY need to read Abandon Me and Whip Smart. Tell me you wouldn’t want to read everything this woman wrote after reading this: “Patriarchy (and institutional bigotry) conditions us to operate as if we are constantly working at a deficit. In some ways, this is true. You have to work twice as hard to get half the credit. I have spent most of my life trying to be perfect. The best student. The best dishwasher. The best waitress. The best babysitter. The best dominatrix. The best heroin addict. The best professor. I wanted to be good, as if by being good I might prove that I deserved more than the ephemeral esteem of sexist asshats. ”

Belly and brain sufficiently nourished, I think it’s time for me to unwind. You know, I’m starting to really love this blogging thing again. Maybe I’m shouting into the void. I don’t know. But at least I’m saying something.

Until next time,

[sic]

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

