almost like home.

Flash back to the holiday season. A day in that weird week between Christmas and the New Year. I meet up with a dear friend of mine in Philadelphia. First, some writing time on the SEPTA train. The rhythm of the train gliding along the rails is so soothing; maybe it’s because I’m a New Yorker. The train is your chariot in New York. It will take you anywhere.

 

My friend and I meet in The Dandelion Pub, a charming British gastropub that makes two Anglophiles feel right at home.

After all, they serve Ribena soda.

 

IMG_20161228_123337

So fizzy. So sweet.

 

IMG_20161228_123344

These colors! I’m in love.

I chow down on some pickled beets, and my friend generously gives me a bit of her bread because three toast points is not going to cut it.

 

IMG_20161228_123436

An amazing meal, but I’m going to need some more carbs for that tapenade.

It’s a cold, gray day, but we still walk around, visiting the (now closed!) Arterial Agents for  vanilla lavender lattes and some treats. It is so sad to discover a gem only for it to disappear shortly afterwards. That’s kind of the whole point of this blog, though. So many things fade away, but I can still keep a record of them and, in some small way, keep them alive.

 

IMG_20161229_154230

Arterial Agents, I miss you!

 

After some excellent thrift shopping, we once again stop for coffee, this time at Chapterhouse. (I’m well aware that I have issues but have no plans of lessening my caffeine dependency.) I warm myself up with a Dominican mocha, and we challenge each other to timed writing sessions. Breakthrough! Maybe it’s the chill vibe of the café. Maybe it’s the writerly camaraderie. Maybe it’s the caffeine. All I know is, the scene I had been working on to no avail for days suddenly springs forth, as if the movie playing out in my head is racing down my arm and through my pen.

IMG_20161228_161059

 ****

I find myself thinking about that day a lot. On that day, I started feeling, in my gut, what I wanted my life to be. I started to remember what real friendship feels like. Most of all, I really understood how the energy of a city recharges me.

Not bad for a day of walking with a friend.

[sic]

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

